Velominati Super Prestige: Womens Liege-Bastogne Liege 2017

The Ardennes Triple is something that hasn’t been won very often by male riders, and no woman has ever accomplished it. Mostly because until this year, it hasn’t existed. While Amstel Gold and La Fleche both held Women’s events, Liege has only just got on the program. (We are waiting for you, Milan Sanremo, Paris-Roubaix and il Giro di Lombardia.)

Women’s racing has always been something we’ve worked to support, most actively when we included the full women’s race calendar in the VSP for the first time in 2012. I’m not sure what the VSP has done for Women’s racing exposure, if anything, but it certainly has helped those of us who participate in the VSP gain more awareness of how the women’s field is made up beyond the big and obvious names. And for those participants who have taken the time to do the research, it has made the difference in who wins the VSP overall and who doesn’t.

I’m thrilled to see such a major race take on a Women’s event, and I can’t wait to see Anna VDB take the first triple. And remember the obvious variation of Rule #47: Don’t ride triples, win triples.

Get your picks in, study the start list once it surfaces, and good luck!

[vsp_results id=”104303″/]

Related Posts

86 Replies to “Velominati Super Prestige: Womens Liege-Bastogne Liege 2017”


    1. Anna van der Breggen
    2. Annemiek van Vleuten
    3. Elizabeth Deignan
    4. Katarzyna Niewiadoma
    5. Elisa Longo Borghini

    1. ARMISTEAD, Elizabeth
    2. VAN DER BREGGEN, Anna
    3. NIEWIADOMA, Katarzyna
    4. MOOLMAN, Ashleigh

    1. Van Der Breggen, Anna
    2. Deignan, Lizzie
    3. Longo Borghini, Elisa
    4. Niewiadoma, Katarzyna
    5. Ferrand-Prevot, Pauline

    1. van der Breggen
    2. Longo-Borghini
    3. Niewiadoma
    4. Deignan
    5. van Vleuten
  5. Let’s try this again…


    1. Anna van der Breggen
    2. Ashleigh Moolman
    3. Pauline Ferrand-Prévot
    4. Elizabeth Deignan
    5. Alison Jackson

    1. Anna van der Breggen
    2. Katarzyna Niewiadoma
    3. Elizabeth Deignan
    4. Annemiek van Vleuten
    5. Elisa Longo Borghini
  7. LBL Femmes


    1. Van Der Breggen, Anna
    2. Niewiadoma, Katarzyna
    3. Deignan, Elizabeth
    4. Spratt, Amanda
    5. Longo Borghini, Elisa
  8. Results:

    1. Anna Van Der Breggen (PBS, Boels-Dolmans) les 135 km en 3h42’17” (36,5 km/h)

    2. Elizabeth Deignan (GBR, Boels-Dolmans) à 17 sec.

    3. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL, WM3 Energie) à 19 sec.

    4. Ellen Van Dijk (PBS, Team Sunweb) à 31 sec.

    5. Annemiek Van Vleuten (PBS, Orica-Scott) m.t.

    Four of five, with #1 correct. Makes up for my men’s Delgado.

  9. @frank

    Anna is just unstoppable!

    And she’s had a large part in taking me to the top of the table!

    Sure it wont last but I’ll enjoy the jersey while it’s mine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.